Recipe #:11 Grilled Halloumi Salad

 

image1

Hello lovely people, I have noticed my followers are slowly but surely going up, up, up! Amazing, I know it’s still only a very small blog but when I started writing this I honestly did not think anyone would bloody read it! So, the fact that people from all over the world are actually reading my inane drivel is insane. So, I just want to say thank you to all the people that are taking time out of their busy lives to read this and even ‘like’ it sometimes!

So this week has been all about wedding planning, it’s insane, the biggest think I have ever organised and probably the biggest thing I will ever organise in my life. My amazing mum has given me a ‘to-do’ list and even broke it down into what needs to be done each week until the wedding (which is in three months). I am feeling a little bit more in control of it all now. Did you know if a registrar comes to marry you in a licensed venue then you cannot meet them before the day?! I asked to meet up with whoever was going to be marrying us and they said we can’t! We just send them a form with what we want to say and he will incorporate it on the day, mental right?

image3

Anyway, this week the bridesmaid dresses arrived, I chose 6 bridesmaids, what the fuck was I thinking? SIX bridesmaids, am I some sort of glutton for punishment? And finding a dress that would suit all of them has been an ongoing nightmare for the past three months. In the end, I went with those multiway dresses so that they can all wear it in a way that they like. And when you add body confidence and different sizes into the mix its important they can wear their dress how they like, so that I don’t get it in the neck 😉.

The day I cooked this meal I had been caught up in a child protection meeting until 6pm about an hour away from my house, and my maid of honour was supposed to be coming around at 5pm to try the dress on! Luckily, she is incredibly forgiving and came back at 7pm to try the dress on. I was obviously knackered at this point but new I needed to cook something tonight because I was going away this weekend and so wouldn’t have another chance to cook for the blog.

The great thing about this recipe is that I managed to cook it within 30 minutes, whilst also running about sorting my maid of honour in her dress and trying out different styles with her. Its dead easy and although I wasn’t really looking forward to it as I didn’t think it would be filling, it actually was and it was really tasty. I added some butterfly chicken to jacks (uh-oh veggies don’t shoot me! The man loves his chicken, and it was free range) and served it up completely exhausted, wolfed it down, and cuddled up on the sofa for the rest of the evening in a couscous coma.

Ingredients

200g halloumi (cut into thick strips)image2
2 courgettes (cut into strips) I used peppers because Jack hates courgettes
10 cherry tomatoes (halved)
50g pine nuts
150g couscous (or quinoa if gluten-free)
1 lemon
1 small bunch flat leaf parsley (roughly chopped)
2 tbsp pesto
Vegetable stock cube
Harissa seasoning

Recipe

1. Pour 200ml boiling water into a heatproof jug and add the Vegetable Stock. Put the couscous into a large bowl and pour the stock over. Cover with cling film and leave to soak for 5 mins.

2. Heat a griddle pan or a wide frying pan over high heat. Coat the halloumi and courgette in the pesto. Add a drizzle of oil to the pan and then place the vegetables in and brown them on both sides. (You may need to do this in batches.) Then set them aside and keep warm.

3. Meanwhile, uncover the couscous and stick a fork through it to fluff it up. Toast the pine nuts in a dry frying pan for 2 mins, or until golden brown. In a bowl, combine 2 tbsp oil, the juice of one lemon and the Harissa Seasoning to make a dressing.

4. Add the cherry tomatoes, toasted pine nuts and parsley, (if using). Serve the quinoa or couscous mixture topped with the grilled halloumi and courgette. Pour over the dressing.

 

Leave a Reply

