Recipe #10: Japanese Fried Rice AKA Bokkeumbap

on


I had a whole week off this week and let me tell you, one week is not enough! I have finished my job and will be starting a new one on Monday. I had big plans, lots of stuff to get sorted and organised, did I get it done? Did I fuck. I started watching Celebs go dating on 4od and BAMM the week was gone! I guess I needed the rest though and now I’m ready to start my new job feeling fresh and motivated. 

I have been absolutely living off this dish this week, after I was sent the spices in a ‘simply cook’ box I was hooked. The only annoying thing is it needs a few ingredients that you can’t get in the supermarket, but you can buy them on Amazon and they aren’t too expensive and you only need to use a little bit each time so what I bought will last a long time. 


This is proper comfort food, tasty, filling, quick and easy. I have cooked it a few different ways this week, once with a fried egg on top and also with the egg scrambled and mixed it, I also served it for my beautiful friend jade with tofu, she loves my tofu. 

Tofu can be difficult to get right and I think it gets a bad rep a lot of the time but if you cook it right it’s delicious and packed with protein. My fail safe way to cook tofu is to wrap it in a tea towel and put some weight on it and leave until the tea towel is wet through. Cut it into pieces about 1.5cm and glug over some soy sauce and sesame oil so that each piece is coated. Put on a roasting tray with baking paper and spray with light cooking oil. Put in a hot oven for about 20 minutes or until golden. 

Works for everything! Salads, stir fries, rice dishes etc. 

The 2 special Korean elements that transform this jumble of ingredients into a big bowl of savoury and spicy goodness: Doenjang – a Korean soybean paste and Gochujang, a red chilli pepper paste! Can be found by searching them on Amazon. 

Here’s how to make it: 

Bokkeumbap


Large Table Spoon of Gochujang 

2X Table Spoon of Doenjang 

Table Spoon of Garlic Paste 

Half a white cabbage, chopped 

2 or 3 spring onions, thinly sliced 

2 eggs 

120g easy cook rice 

Any leftovers in your fridge (Optional) 
* Unless you’ve got some leftover rice already in your fridge, cook some fresh rice according to the packet instructions. (Try to keep it a little bit underdone.)

* Add 1 tbsp oil to a frying pan or wok followed by the Garlic Paste and cabbage. Stir-fry the cabbage (and any other fresh veg) at high heat until cooked (3-4 mins). Then remove from the pan and set aside.

* Using the same pan heat 1 tbsp of oil. Once the pan is hot add the cooked rice keeping it on medium heat for 5 mins. (Don’t move the rice around in the pan too much. Ideally it will start to crackle and colour a little.)

* Stir the Gochujang, Doenjang and spring onions into the rice. Stir the mixture well and then add the cabbage. At this stage you can also add any cooked meat leftovers you have if you would like to.

* In a separate frying pan, fry two eggs to the point where the yolks are still a little runny.

* Scoop the rice mixture onto each plate and serve with the fried eggs on top. Stir the yolk in through the rice. Enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Leigh says:

    That sounds like proper comfort food, gonna try this one. Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

